Branch Operations



CMST has three branches, all headed by Branch Managers and undertaking mandatory functions of warehousing, sales and distribution. Procurement is done centrally at the Head Office.  


The Branches process three kinds of orders:

·         Normal Orders which are processed monthly

·         Emergency Orders which are processed as and when the need arises

·         Special Orders for medicines and medical supplies outside CMST normal stock


Customers must submit normal orders to a branch in the region they are located to by the 10th of the month. Distribution, according to such orders, is done to the door step of district hospitals and all health centres within 15 working days from the receipt of the normal orders.



With a staff establishment of 23, Mzuzu Branchis located in Luwinga, Mzuzu and  serves 7 districts namely Mzimba, Nkhata Bay, Rumphi, Chitipa, Likoma, Karonga.


Within this catchment area, the Branch serves Mzuzu Central Hospital, 7 District Hospitals, 98 public health centres, 39 CHAM health facilities and 5 NGO-run health facilities, servicing all delivery points by road except the Likoma DHO, Khondowe and Rwarwe Health Centres which are accessed by ship and boat.


Mzuzu Branch has 2 warehouses, with a total storage space of 978.54 cubic metres, which is a sum of 694.1cubic metres forthe pallet positions for the racked area and 284.5 cubic metres for all non-racked rooms and shelves for both warehouses.


The Branch’s current supply rate stands at an average of 66.7% per month.



The 24 staff member Lilongwe Branch serves nine districts namely Kasungu, Ntchisi, Dowa, Mchinji, Lilongwe, Ntcheu, Dedza, Nkhotakota and Salima.


Within this area, facilities covered are the Kamuzu Central Hospital (KCH), 9 district hospitals and 241 public health centres of which 178 are under Ministry of Health and 64 for CHAM.


The Branch has one warehouse. It has a total capacity of 543 cubic metres.



Blantyre Branch has a staff establishment of 30. It reaches out to the biggest population by regional spread, of about 45 to 50 percent, spread over 13 districts namely Blantyre, Balaka, Machinga, Zomba, Mangochi, Thyolo, Nsanje, Chikwawa, Mwanza, Neno, Mulanje, Phalombe and Chiradzulu.


The Branch boasts of servicing three referral Hospitals namely; Queen Elizabeth Central Hospital, Zomba Central Hospital and Zomba Mental Hospital; 13 District Hospitals, 220 public Health Centres, 12 CHAM Hospitals and Health Centres and 11 non-profit making organizations operated health institutions.


The Branch has a production unit capable of, in recent times, producing topical preparations and morphine solution.


About Us

Central Medical Stores Trust is a company registered under the Act ...

You can talk to us on


Important Links

  • Malawi Law Society
  • Malawi Accountants Board